Local Government Areas in abia state

List of the 17 Local Government Areas in Abia State

Abia State is one of the 36 states in Nigeria and belongs to the South-East geopolitical zone. The state was founded on 27 August 1991. There are 17 Local Government Areas (LGA) in the state.

The name, “Abia” was influenced by the most populated place in the state. They are Aba, Bende, Isuikwuato, and Arochukwu. The first letter of each region was used to form Abia.

The capital of Abia state is Umuahia while Aba is the largest commercial centre as well as the largest city in the state.

Below are the names of the 17 Local Government Areas in Abia State:

  1. Aba North
  2. Aba South
  3. Arochukwu
  4. Bende
  5. Ikwuano
  6. Isiala Ngwa North
  7. Isiala Ngwa South
  8. Isuikwuato
  9. Obi Ngwa
  10. Ohafia
  11. Osisioma Ngwa
  12. Ugwunagbo
  13. Ukwa East
  14. Ukwa West
  15. Umuahia North
  16. Umuahia South
  17. Umu Nneochi

Also, you want to read an article on Abia State Postal Code.

Related:  300 Best Love Messages ~ I Love You Touching Messages

Leave a Reply


You cannot copy content of this page