rivers state local government area

List of the 23 Local Government Areas in Rivers State

Rivers State is one of the 36 States in Nigeria and belongs to the South-South geopolitical zone. There are 23 Local Government Areas (LGA) in the state.

The state was established on 27 May 1967 and was carved out of the former Eastern Region. Port Harcourt is the Capital of Rivers and also remains a core region due to its success in the oil industry and several other trades.

Here are the names of the LGAs in Rivers State:

  1. Abua/Odual
  2. Ahoada East
  3. Ahoada West
  4. Akuku Toru
  5. Andoni
  6. Asari-Toru
  7. Bonny
  8. Degema
  9. Emohua
  10. Eleme
  11. Etche
  12. Gokana
  13. Ikwerre
  14. Khana
  15. Obia/Akpor
  16. Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni
  17. Ogu/Bolo
  18. Okrika
  19. Omumma
  20. Opobo/Nkoro
  21. Oyigbo
  22. Port-Harcourt
  23. Tai

Also, check out our post on Rivers State Postal Code for more information.

Related:  720pstream: Stream NHL, MLB, NFL, Boxing, and other sports for free

Leave a Reply


You cannot copy content of this page