Nigeria states and capitals

Nigeria’s 36 States with their Capitals, Slogans & Geopolitical Zones

Do you wish to know the 36 States and Capitals of Nigeria with their Slogans and current governors?

But first, let us give you a brief history of the biggest, largest, and most populated country in Africa, Nigeria of course.

Nigeria, being the highest-ranked country in terms of population is an independent country in West Africa. The federal republic of Nigeria has 36 states and the federal capital territory is located in Abuja.

From 1914 to 1991, the capital of Nigeria was Lagos until when General Murtala Mohammed felt Lagos was already way above the rest of the states in terms of development. Hence, Lagos was capped as the seat of power of Nigeria and served as both a political and economic capital.

Although, the General did not actualize this dream, but it was President Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida who finalized the move from Lagos to Abuja. To this day, Abuja is still the Capital of Nigeria.

There have been several arguments why it has to be in Abuja but our guess is that it may do with the fact that Abuja is in a central location which makes it fair for almost everyone. Whereas, Lagos is not in the central but has quite a great distance from most states and cities.

Another could be the fact that there is another chance not to make a second mistake. For instance, anyone who has visited Abuja before will know it was planned using the recent technologies and trends in developing countries. It is easy to confuse Abuja with London in the Night.


The 36 states and the FCT in Nigeria are grouped into six geopolitical zones:

Related:  Top 10 Most Popular Football Clubs in the World 2024

1. North Central (7 states):

Niger, Kogi, Benue, Plateau, Nasarawa (Nassarawa), Kwara, and FCT.

2. North East (6 states):

Bauchi, Borno, Taraba, Adamawa, Gombe, and Yobe

3. North West (7 states):

Zamfara, Sokoto, Kaduna, Kebbi, Katsina, Kano, and Jigawa

4. South East (5 states):

Enugu, Imo, Ebonyi, Abia, and Anambra

5. South-South (6 states):

6. Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Edo, Rivers, Cross River and Delta

6. South West (6 states):

Oyo, Ekiti, Osun, Ondo, Lagos, and Ogun


S/NStatesCapitalsSlogansYear Created
1.AbiaUmuahiaGod’s own State1991
2.AdamawaYolaLand of Beauty1991
3.Akwa IbomUyoLand of Promise1987
4.AnambraAwkaLight of the Nation1991
5.BauchiBauchiPearl of Tourism1976
6.BayelsaYenagoaGlory of all Lands1996
7.BenueMakurdiFood Basket of the Nation1996
8.BornoMaiduguriHome of Peace1976
9.Cross RiverCalabarThe People’s Paradise1967
10.DeltaAsabaThe Big Heart1991
11.EbonyiAbakalikiSalt of the Nation1996
12.EdoBeninHeartbeat of The Nation1991
13.EkitiAdo EkitiLand of Honour and Integrity1996
14.EnuguEnuguCoal City State1976
15.GombeGombeJewel of the Savannah1996
16.ImoOwerriEastern Heartland1976
17.JigawaDutseThe New World1991
18.KadunaKadunaCentre of Learning1967
19.KanoKanoCentre of Commerce1967
20.KatsinaKatsinaHome of Hospitality1987
21.KebbiBirnin KebbiLand of Equity1991
22.KogiLokojaThe Confluence State1991
23.KwaraIlorinState of Harmony1967
24.LagosIkejaCentre of Excellence1967
25.NasarawaLafiaHome of Solid Minerals1996
26.NigerMinnaThe Power State1976
27.OgunAbeokutaGateway State1976
28.OndoAkureSunshine State1976
29.OsunOshogboLand of Virtue1991
30.OyoIbadanPace Setter State1991
31.PlateauJosHome of Peace and Tourism1976
Port Harcourt
Treasure Base of the Nation1967
33.SokotoSokotoSeat of the Caliphate1976
34.TarabaJalingoNature’s Gift to the Nation1991
35.YobeDamaturuPride of the Sahel1991
36.ZamfaraGusauFarming is Our Pride1996
37.Federal Capital TerritoryAbujaCentre of Unity1976

Leave a Reply


You cannot copy content of this page