Local Government Areas in imo state

List of the 27 Local Government Areas in Imo State

Imo State is one of the states in Nigeria and comprises 27 Local Government Areas in Imo State. The state was named after the Imo River which flows along the eastern border.

The capital of Imo State is Owerri. The state capital is also an industrial and educational centre.

The nickname of Imo State is “Eastern Heartland” and remains one of the most densely populated areas in Nigeria.

Below are the names of the 27 LGAs in Imo State:

  1. Aboh Mbaise
  2. Ahiazu Mbaise
  3. Ehime Mbano
  4. Ezinihitte Mbaise
  5. Ideato North
  6. Ideato South
  7. Ihitte/Uboma
  8. Ikeduru
  9. Isiala Mbano
  10. Isu
  11. Mbaitoli
  12. Ngor Okpala
  13. Njaba
  14. Nkwerre
  15. Nwangele
  16. Obowo
  17. Oguta
  18. Ohaji/Egbema
  19. Okigwe
  20. Onuimo
  21. Orlu
  22. Orsu
  23. Oru East
  24. Owerri Municipal
  25. Oru West
  26. Owerri North
  27. Owerri West

Check out the post on Imo State Postal Code.

Related:  List of the 13 Local Government Areas in Ebonyi State

Leave a Reply


You cannot copy content of this page